Share this article

Wednesday, 19th of April marks 100 days to go to the Vitality Netball World Cup 2023 (VNWC2023) which is scheduled to be hosted on African soil for the first time.

The VNWC2023 will be held in Cape Town, South Africa from 28th July – 6th August 2023 at the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC), with 16 of the world’s top netball nations, including the hosts South Africa, competing.

Following the successful Netball Friday launch in Tembisa on 14th April as initiated by the Minister of Sport, Arts and Culture, Zizi Kodwa, and the unveiling of a multi-purpose facility at Ronnie Louw Sports Grounds in Hopefield on Tuesday 18th April, there are a number of upcoming activations planned in various provinces to mark 100 Days to Go which will be spearheaded by various Provincial Governments and Municipalities.

In the Western Cape, the City of Cape Town is hosting a netball tournament with the objective of creating awareness and driving the message of rallying support for the upcoming VNWC2023.

Whilst in the province of Limpopo, where the President of Netball South Africa Cecilia Molokwane hails, they have planned a mini world cup tournament for schools taking place at the Ngwako Ramatlhodi Indoor Sports Centre.

Remarking on the Local Organising Committee’s readiness to host the global event, Priscilla Masisi, Tournament Director for the VNWC2023, said: “This 100 Days to Go milestone will assist in providing all of us with an opportunity to encourage the 16 nations participating in the Vitality Netball World Cup 2023 to mobilise their supporters so that they can come and get behind their teams.

“We therefore encourage all of the supporters to buy their tickets to attend this first ever Netball World Cup on African soil.”

Tickets and travel packages can be purchased by visiting  the official tournament website( with a range of tickets and packages available. This is a call out to supporters and lovers of netball to #PutYourHandsUp as we celebrate Africa’s Time to Shine.

The pools for the preliminary stages of the NWC2023 are confirmed as follows:

Pool A Pool B Pool C Pool D
Australia England Jamaica New Zealand
Tonga Malawi South Africa Uganda
Zimbabwe Scotland Wales Trinidad & Tobago
Fiji Barbados Sri Lanka Singapore

The first stage of the tournament will commence on 28th July 2023 with the teams competing in a round robin format in the pools as outlined above. New Zealand are the reigning champions, and they will be looking to defend their crown; and be the first ever winners of the tournament on African soil.

To purchase your tickets, click here.
To purchase travel packages, click here.
To view the full schedule, click here.