Share this article

Johannesburg, South Africa: The Ellis Park Arena was electrified with high-standard netball on the court and an enthusiastic crowd, as the final day of the Telkom Netball League took centre stage.

The long-awaited day with a rematch of last year’s final between the Jaguars and the Crinums lived up to expectations. Last year, the Jaguars narrowly defeated the Crinums in the final, however, this year’s match was a different story – it was a thrilling and intense game that met everyone’s expectations.

At some point, it seemed like the game might go into extra time or even sudden death. This was anticipated to be a battle of the giants, and both teams put on an exceptional performance in the final.

Karla Pretorious brought a wealth of experience and leadership skills to the Crinum team, making a significant impact. This marked Pretorious’ first season back in South Africa after showcasing her talents in Australia. Ane Retief and Refiloe Nketsa also played pivotal roles in leading the team, providing valuable guidance to younger players, such as Reratilwe Letsoalo.

The Jaguars were initially trailing, but they staged a comeback with their strong mindset. Kamo Maseko, named player of the match, performed well under pressure, displaying clinical skills and providing solid defence, accuracy, and feeds to the circle. However, they ultimately fell short, losing to the Crinums by just one goal. The game took a dramatic turn when Alyssa Trahams was awarded a penalty shot with only five seconds remaining in the shooting circle.

In an earlier encounter, a battle in a promotion/relegation match between 2024 Division B winners the Kingdom Stars and the Limpopo Baobabs. The Stars went into the match after playing two highly contested back-to-back matches against the Kingdom Queens and Eastern Cape Comets, meanwhile, the Baobabs had two days rest after they played their last match on Monday, 17 June.

Emily Mathosa’s team lost all their matches throughout the season but won a crucial match when it mattered most. Meanwhile, it took KD Stars some time to score their first goal. By then, the Limpopo Baobabs team was already in a comfortable lead and continued to dominate the game and, as a result, they secured their spot in the Division A once again.



Baobabs 65-40 Stars

Division 1 FINAL
Jaguars 46-47 Crinums


Best Shooter: Alice Kennon – Jaguars

Best Centre: Refiloe Nketsa – Free State Crinums

Best Defender: Jamie Van Wyk – Jaguars

STAND TALL Player of the Tournament: Karla Pretorious – Free State Crinums



2023: Gauteng Jaguars

2022: Gauteng Golden Fireballs

2021: Gauteng Jaguars

2020: Gauteng Jaguars

2019: Gauteng Jaguars

2018: Gauteng Jaguars

2017: Gauteng Jaguars

2016: Free State Crinums

2015: Free State Crinums

2014: Free State Crinums