Share this article


25 August 2022, Pretoria – The 2023 Netball World Cup qualifiers for the Africa region started in Pretoria, South Africa on Sunday 21st August 2022 and will finish on Saturday the 27th.

At the start of the event, two African nations had already qualified for next year’s global showpiece, namely South Africa and Uganda. South Africa qualified on the basis that they are ranked fifth in the world and are hosts as well. There is now space for two African teams left for them to book their spot at the 2023 Netball World Cup.

Ten teams were identified to come compete at the qualifiers however Uganda announced their withdrawal from the competition with a few days left before commencement.

The countries that are left are South Africa, Malawi, Zimbabwe, Kenya, eSwatini, Tanzania, Botswana, Namibia and Zambia. The countries were split into two pools. After round robin matches, the top two teams per pool would go play semis. At the end of round robin matches South Africa and Zimbabwe were topping pool A and Malawi together with Zambia topped the other pool.

Malawi will square of with Zimbabwe tomorrow in the first semi final match at 13:00 while South Africa will take on Zambia in the other semi final match at 15:00.

More info on the Africa Netball World Cup Qualifiers

Final fixtures for Friday 26th August 2022:

09:00 – Namibia v Tanzania

11:00 – Botswana v Kenya

13:00 – Malawi v Zimbabwe

15;00 – South Africa v Zambia

17:00 – Namibia v Eswatini

Matches broadcast on SuperSport Variety 4, SABC Sport DTT 4 & Openview 124 and TelkomONE