Share this article

Johannesburg, South Africa – Four teams from the continent will spearhead Africa’s challenge at this month’s Netball World Cup in Liverpool, with South Africa, Malawi, Zimbabwe and Uganda all determined to break the Australasian stranglehold on the trophy.

Starting on July 12, all 60 matches will be broadcast on SuperSport, concluding with the final on July 21. This will be the first time every match can be seen live on the World of Champions. Six of the last seven finals have been contested by world number one Australia and New Zealand, with the exception being in 1995 when South Africa captured a silver medal. South Africa’s SPAR Proteas are currently ranked fifth, followed by Uganda (sixth), Malawi (ninth) and Zimbabwe in 13th according to the latest netball world ranking released on 1 July 2019.

Malawi start their challenge with a tough outing against fourth-ranked New Zealand; Zimbabwe play 18th-ranked Sri Lanka and South Africa start against perennially tough Trinidad and Tobago (10th), the only team other than New Zealand and Australia to capture the title, as they did 40 years ago. Uganda will kickstart their World Cup participation when they play third-ranked England.

SuperSport’s multi-platform offering will also include coverage via DStv Catch Up, DStv Now,, Facebook, YouTube, Twitter and Instagram.