Share this article


Birmingham – South Africa and Wales came into today’s match both looking at redeeming themselves after their losses against Jamaica and Australia respectively on Tuesday. The two nations have lost two games each in this tournament.

With South Africa yet to lose against Wales, it was expected of them to dominate from the first whistle however the Welsh team were ready to spoil that party as they threw everything at South Africa in the first quarter. The quarter ended with both teams squared at 12 all.

Dorette Badenhorst brought Nicola Smith in place of Zanele Vimbela at Goal Defense and moved Khanyisa Chawane, Shadine van der Merwe and Bongiwe Msomi around. These changes seemed to have done a lot of good for South Africa as they took charge of the quarter and scored nineteen goals and restricted Wales to just nine. It was South Africa that led 31 -21 after 30 minutes and going into the second half.

The start of championship quarter was no different for South Africa who kept piling the pressure and making sure that they extend their lead. The South African team was working like well-oiled match throughout the quarter, restricted the Wales attack while they continued to dominate in this quarter – they finished the quarter 53 -32.

Dorette Badenhorst made a few changes at the start of the final quarter with the introduction of Tshina Mdau, Nichole Taljaard and Lefebre Rademan. It was not long in the quarter when South Africa made more changes with Maweni making way for Vimbela.

With ten minutes to go, Wales started putting on the pressure and growing in confidence. They seemed to have turned the corner and found their mojo, South Africa did not hold back and challenged their opponents – Wales took the quarter 19 – 16 however it was South Africa who walked with their record intact winning the match 69 – 51

South Africa starting seven:
Ine-Mari Venter (GS); Elmere van der Berg (GA); Khanyisa Chawane (WD); Bongiwe Msomi (C); Izette Griesel (WA); Zanele Vimbela (GD); Phumza Maweni (GK)

Q1 South Africa 12 – 12 Wales
Q2 South Africa 31- 21 Wales
Q3 South Africa 53 – 32 Wales
Q4 South Africa 69 – 51 Wales