Share this article


Cardiff, Wales – The SPAR Proteas and Wales squared off for the second and final match of the two-test series on Wednesday at the Sport Wales National Centre and South Africa came into this high in confidence following their win the previous day.

Wales who sought to draw this series and claim their first ever win against South Africa started the match with the same team as yesterday whilst Dorette Badenhorst made wholesome changes to the team that started their previous match.

It was the host who started the match on a high and took the game to South Africa as soon as the match started, they enjoyed the lead and finished the first quarter 14 – 12.

Both teams came into the second quarter with no changes, however it was the SPAR Proteas who started punching above their weight and challenged Wales for their lead. South Africa seemed a bit stronger in the second quarter and claimed the lead, they managed to win 15 – 11 and took the score to 27 – 25 going into half time.

South Africa made a few changes coming into the third quarter with the introduction of Zanele Vimbela on goal defence, Khanyisa Chawane in mid-court and Lefebre Rademan on goal attack.  South Africa continued to pile on the pressure, relied on their experience on court and dominated the championship quarter – it was the SPAR Proteas who ended the quarter 45 – 34.

Tshina Mdau came on at the start of the last quarter and she was the only change that South Africa made going into this final quarter. The SPAR Proteas continued with their dominance – Wales did not hold back and did what they did last night by winning the last quarter 12 – 13 however still lost the match 57 – 47.

South Africa maintain their unbeaten record against Wales with both teams having had met eighteen times. South Africa will travel to Birmingham on Friday the 22nd of July to check into the Athletes Village where they will continue with their preparations for Commonwealth Games.

SPAR Proteas starting seven:

Ine-Mari Venter (GS); Elmere van der Berg (GA); Bongiwe Msomi (WA); Izette Griesel (C); Shadine van der Merwe (WD); Nicola Smith (GD); Phumza Maweni (GK)

Wales starting seven:

Christina Shaw (GK); Ella Powell – Davis (GD); Nia Jones (WD); Suzy Drane(C); Bethan Dyke (WA); Betsy Creak (GA); Georgia Rowe (GS)