Share this article

Mangaung Metro threw the SPAR national netball championships wide open on Wednesday with a comprehensive 46-35 win over tournament favourites Tshwane at Young Park.

The Free State team got off to a flying start and were 14-4 ahead after the first quarter. Tshwane fought back in the second quarter, which they won by 11 goals to seven, but the damage had been done and they were unable to catch up. Mangaung led 33-23 after the third quarter and although Tshwane lost the final quarter by just one goal (13-12) it was too little too late.

The Mangaung goalkeeper and goal attack, Ane Retief and Tanya Mostert did an outstanding job in keeping Tshwane goal shooter Ina-Mari Venter on the back foot. The lanky shooter was obviously rattled and struggled to get the ball in the net.

“We were very disappointed when we lost to Dr Kenneth Kaunda yesterday,” said Mangaung coach Burta de Kock.

“But the players picked themselves up after that, stuck to the game plan, and it worked,” she said.

“It’s been a glory moment, but it’s over, and we have to focus on the remaining games.”

“We didn’t see it coming,” said a rueful Tshwane coach Jenny van Dyk.

“Give credit where it’s due, Mangaung came out all guns blazing and they played extremely well. The damage was done in the first quarter,” she said.

“I think we may have been a bit complacent after some very big victories, but I should have planned better for this match.”

Tshwane’s defeat was good news for rivals Dr Kenneth Kaunda (Potchefstroom) and Cape Winelands, who are still unbeaten.   Cape Winelands had a hard fought victory over neighbours Cape Town, beating them 47-42. They achieved a runaway victory over Bojanala (Rustenburg) in their early match, beating them 90-2. Dr Kenneth Kaunda overwhelmed Sarah Baartman (South Eastern Cape) 109-7 and Nkangala 86-14.

“This opens up the tournament,” said a delighted Dr Kenneth Kaunda coach, Elsje Jordaan.

“Anything can happen now.”

Dr Kenneth Kaunda moved to the top of the log with a massive 66-22 win over Nelson Mandela Bay. They have 14 points, Tshwane have 12 and Cape Winelands, Cape Town and Mangaung have 10 each.

In other matches played on Wednesday, Tshwane beat Nkangala 91-16, Cape Town beat Gert Sibande (Ermelo) 73-33, and Nelson Mandela Bay beat Bojanala 52-35. Gert Sibande registered their first points when they beat Ehlanzeni (Nelspruit) 56-27. In the final round of matches on the day, Mangaung beat Gert Sibande 98-7, Cape Town beat Sarah Baartman and Bojanala beat Ehlanzi 45-40.

Ehlanzeni and Sarah Baartman have not won any matches so far.

Day 3 Results of the SPAR National Netball Championships 2018


Section senior A

Nkangala 16 vs Tshwane 93, Gert Sibande 38 vs Cape Town 73, Cape Winelands 90 vs Bojanala 2, Sarah Baartman 7 vs Dr kk 109

Section senior B1

Sekhukhune 38 vs Eden 33, Lejweleputswa 28 vs NM Bay 51, Amathole 14 vs Buffalo City 86

Section senior B2

Harry Gwala 35 vs NM Molema 31

Section senior B3

Frances Baard 64 vs Central Karoo 16


Section U21 A1

Sarah Baartman 13 vs Cape Town 62

Section U21 A2

Ekurhuleni 62 vs Harry Gwala 37

Section U21 B2

Amathole 7 vs Ethekwini 64, Joe Gqabi 19 vs Zululand 69, Dr Ruth Mompati 18 vs Capricon 50, Johannesburg 20 vs Tshwane 47

Section Senior B1

ZF Mgcawu 50 vs Cape Winelands 35

Section Senior B4

Ethekwini 30 vs Ethekwini B1 57, Alfred Nzo 56 vs Vhembe 24



Section U21 A1

Mangaung Metro 26 vs Tshwane 49,

Section U21 A2

NM Bay 42 vs Cape Winelands 51

Section U21 B1

Waterberg 29 vs Alfred Nzo 40, Lejweleputswa 60 vs Amajuba 25, DR kk 51 vs ZF Mgcawa 9, Buffalo City 41 vs Chris Hani 12

Section Senior B2

Chris Hani 28 vs Zululand 48

Section Senior B3

NM Bay b2 26 vs Zululand 48

Section Senor B4

John TG 24 vs West Coast 52


Section Senior A

Mangaung 47 vs Tshwane 35, Cape Winelands 47 vs Cape Town 42, NM Bay 52 vs Bojanala 35, Nkangala 14 vs DR kk 86

Section Senior B1

Sekhukhune 15 vs Buffalo 52, Eden 28 vs NM Bay 58

Section Senior B2

NM Molema 18 vs Capricorn 53, Tshwane 51 vs SANDF 25

Section Senior B4

Joe Gqabi 12 vs Royal Bafokeng 58


Section Senior A

Ehlanzeni 27 vs Gert Sibande 56

Section U21 B2

Joe Gqabi 9 vs Ethekwni 58, Amathole 10 vs Johannesburg 58

Section Senior B3

Central Karoo 26 vs Overberg 42, NM Bay 15 vs France Baard 34


Section Senior B 1

Aamathole 32 vs ZF Mcawu 57

Section Senior B4

John TG 13 vs EThekwini B1 83, Alfred Nzo 36 vs EThewkwini 51

Section Senior B3

Amajuba 41 vs Waterberg 72

Section Senior U21 B2

Zululand 73 vs Capricorn 24

Section U21 A2

Ehlanzeni 25 vs DR kk 66

Section U21 B1

Buffalo City 46 vs Waterberg 14


Section U21 A1

Gert Sibande 39 vs Nkangala 20

Section U21 B1

DR KK 58 vs Alfred Nzo 17, Lejweleputswa 73 vs Chris Hani 11, Amajuba 68 vs ZF Mgcawu 25

Section B4

Royal Bafokeng 32 vs West Coast 53



Section A Senior

NM Bay 22 vs Dr. KK 66

Ehlanzeni 40 vs Bojanala 45

Mangaung Metro 98 vs Gert Sibanda 7