Share this article

South African Wimbledon history maker, Kgothatso Montjane, leads the list of finalists for 2021 Momentum gsport Awards. The four-time winner on the gsport stage, features in the categories for Sasol Global Woman in Sport Award and Brand SA Para Sport Star of the Year.

Montjane’s inclusion comes on the back of an incredible performance on the world stage as she became the first black South African female to compete in a singles and doubles final at Wimbledon.

She is joined by world record holder in the shotput F64 event, Maria Combrink and 2020 ISA World Para Surfing Championships silver medallist, Noluthando Makalima.

The 16th edition of Africa’s longest running women’s sport recognition platform, is endorsed by the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture, and backed by leading insurance and financial advisory services, Momentum, as headline sponsor.

International cricketer, Shabnim Ismail, caps off a stellar campaign, as she is shortlisted in the Momentum Athlete of the Year category. In November 2020, Ismail became the first overseas player, male or female, to win the Player of the Final award in the Women’s Big Bash League in Australia.

In March this year, she became the first South African woman to take 150 wickets in ODI cricket and went on to win the SA Women’s Cricketer of the Year award. Ismail’s achievements saw her catch the attention of England organisers as she secured a contract for the new lucrative cricket tournament, The Hundred.

Ismail is up against influential South African football star, Rhoda Mulaudzi and SA’s No.1 ranked golfer, Caitlyn Macnab for the prestigious accolade.

Aiming to retain her gsport Supporter of the Year title, Selina Munsamy’s passion to back women in sport has been recognised again this year. Long-distance runner, Nontu Mghabi and women’s sport photographer, Andries Kruger, conclude the category.

The Sasol Global Woman in Sport category features players who have made their mark on the international stage, and along with Montjane, includes one of the most accomplished South African women’s footballers, Thembi Kgatlana and road cycling champion, Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio.

In the running for the Imperial African Woman in Sport Award, the category will be contested by experienced journalist, Juliet Bawuah, South African international striker, Ode Fulutudilu and founder of Sports Redeem, Violet Jubane.

The Telkom Woman of the Year race sees SA national netball captain, Bongi Msomi, South African Gymnastics Federation CEO, Anne Vermaak and Seasoned middle distance runner turned sports administrator, Kesa Molotsane, go head to head for the title.

Rising gymnasts, Naveen Daries, 100m sensation, Reabetswe Moloi, and up and coming cyclist, Ainsli de Beer, compete for the Emerging Athlete of the Year award which recognises athletes excelling at national and provincial level during the Year under Review.

SA Women’s Water Polo coach, Delaine Mentoor, Jaguars netball head coach, Jenny van Dyk and gymnastics coach, Ilse Pelser, battle it out for Coach of the Year.

The SA Women’s Water Polo team, Africa’s first ever representative at an Olympic Games. 2020 COSAFA title winners, Banyana Banyana and SPAR Challenge Series, SPAR Proteas, battle it out for Team of the Year.

Cycling SA, SA Gymnastics Federation and GolfRSA are recognised for their work to raise the profile of women in sport as finalists in Federation of the Year category.

As we look to honour our development stars, BMX rider, Miyanda Maseti, and tennis stars, Lilitha Ndungane and Kaitlyn Ramduth, contest the School Sport Star award.

Nielsen Sports SA Sponsor of the Year lauds brands who put women’s sport first and will be contested by Hollywoodbets for backing the Women’s Soccer League, Sasol as sole headline sponsor of the SA women’s senior national team and the Sasol League, as well as Telkom, who sponsor South Africa’s domestic netball league.

Women in media continue to make great strides with industry peers going head to head in all five media categories.

SA Rugby Magazine’s senior writer, Mariette Adams, Herald and Weekend Post newspaper’s Vuyokazi Nkanjeni and IsoLezwe’s Xolile Mabuza, lead a dynamic Woman in Print Category.

Seasoned broadcaster, Julia Stuart, will battle fellow TV stars, Mbali Sigidi and Tumi Kgasoe for the SuperSport Woman in TV award.

Radio2000’s Nthabiseng Mamabolo makes a consecutive appearance in the Woman in Radio category, alongside EWN’s Cato Louw and Ukhozi FM’s Thulisile Miya.

The Woman in PR and Sponsorship category is a fierce contest as CSA Media Manager, Sipokazi Sokanyile, takes on seasoned professionals, Emy Casaletti-Bwalya from Opitmize Agency and Roc Nation Sports Africa PR and Communications’ Lerato Malekutu.

The Woman in Social Media category features women who are using their platforms to promote, create awareness and to champion women’s sport at every opportunity. This year’s finalists are cricket content creator, Lesego Pooe, GolfRSA’s Lali Stander and SABC Sport’s Nandi Buthelezi.

Akhona Makalima, Mamello Makha and Kesa Molotsane, light up the Style Star category which recognises vibrant South African women in sport who inspire women in sport to aspire to build powerful personal brands.

The Special Recognition Award includes advocate for women in sport, Desiree Vardhan, Clinical Psychologist, Dr Koketjo Tsebe and supporter of equality for women in cricket, Sue Pather.

The public help choose the winners through free voting which kicks off on the gsport Voting Hall at on Monday, 2 August. Voting will close at midnight on 12 August 2021. Register a free membership at and show your support by voting for your leading candidate.

The finalist with the most number of votes, who doesn’t go on to win a category, will be declared the Public Choice Award winner.

The Momentum gsport Awards is supported by Brand South Africa, Nielsen Sports South Africa, Imperial, Sasol, SuperSport and Telkom.

The premiere of the annual Momentum gsport Awards will be showcased on SuperSport on Tuesday, 31 August 2021.