Share this article


04 September 2023, Pretoria – Netball South Africa hosted the Fast5 trials over the weekend (01stSeptember – 03rd September) at the High-Performance Centre in Pretoria.

South Africa went to New Zealand in 2022 with Coach Martha Mosoahle – Samm and came back with a silver medal, this was the first time in history that this happened.

South Africa will be looking to do better than what they did last year when they go back to Christchurch New Zealand later this year for the FAST5 Netball World Series (11-12 November 2023).

After a successful weekend of trials, a total number of twelve male and female players were selected, including two non-travelling players and 10 travelling.

“Historically we have had the strongest male team to work and with every male’s tournament and trial, we discover new players who are eager to be selected – this makes the lives of selectors very hard however this is good because it affords us the opportunity to build a bigger pool of players to work with,” said Netball South Africa President, Cecilia Molokwane.

In the same weekend, the male team which will be competing at the Africa Netball Cup in Botswana was also selected. The team is made up of 12 travelling and three non-travelling players.

Molokwane concluded by saying: “We did exceptionally well last year with our Fast5 team in New Zealand, they won us a silver medal and we’d love to do better this year when we go back. For us to do better, we will obviously need to choose the best players for the job. As the Executive Committee, we believe that the best players were chosen, and they will represent the country well later when they head out to New Zealand.”

The teams chosen are as follows:

FAST5 Females
Zandre Smit; Amber Coraizin; Nozipho Ntshangase; Jeanie Sten; Sian Moore; Nomfundo Mngomezulu; Shannen Bartlett; Danielle van Nieuwenhuysen; Tinita van Dyk; Ane Retief; Didintle Keebine (non-travelling); Chantelle Swart (non-travelling).

FAST 5 Males
Shane Labuschange; Riyaaz Lavendal; William Lethoko; Itumeleng Mohanoe; Njabulo Nekhawambe; Vuikle Zulu; Sabelo Sebuyi; Athenkosi Peterson; Kabelo Mahalane; Nico Peters; Zakhele Msimanga (non-travelling); Gontse Mabusela (non-travelling).

Lutendo Maiwashe; Roderick Fredericks; Eugene Sinxesi; Sibongakonka Vava; Gavin Peters; Sibusiso Magwaza; Scelo Gamede; Juan Louis van der Heever; Vladmir Sefala; Edward Manyathela; Fred Damons (non-travelling); Lebohang Kgogome (non-traveling); Sthembiso Zikhali (non-travelling)

Photo Credit: Michael Bradley Photography