Share this article


14 September 2023, Pretoria – The 2023 Momentum gsport Awards took place on Tuesday night at The Wanderers Club in Johannesburg, this was the 18th edition of the awards ceremony that sought to cast a spotlight on women’s sport and celebrate female athletes.

Netball South Africa went into these awards with one nomination for Federation of the Year and were in contention with Cricket South Africa and Indoor Hockey – it was Cricket South Africa that won this category.

The federation won Public Choice Award simply by getting the most votes overall across all categories and the second award received was the Ministerial Recognition of Excellence. Netball South Africa was one of the five recipients on the night.

Speaking after receiving the Public Choice Award, Netball South Africa President Cecilia Molokwane said “I think we are well on track with our mandate of making netball fashionable and taking it back to the people. Yes, we did not win Federation of the Year award where we were nominated however, we managed to get the most votes overall. This is a clear indication of how we are growing, we are being recognised. Thank you to everyone that voted, we are truly appreciative.”

2023 Momentum gsport Awards Winners:

  • Momentum Athlete of the Year – Andile Dlamini
  • Telkom Woman of the Year – Natasha Petersen
  • Global Woman in Sport – Leila Steyn-Daku
  • DP World African Woman in Sport – Faith Kipyegon
  • SuperSport Woman in TV – Vusiwe Ngcobo
  • Brand SA Para Sport Star of the Year – Kgothatso Montjane
  • SuperSport School Sport Star of the Year – Alicia Khunou
  • Mail & Guardian Woman in Print – Lethabo Kganyago
  • Nielsen Sports South Africa Sponsor of the Year – SASOL
  • Emerging Athlete of the Year – Kyra van Kan
  • Woman in PR and Sponsorship – Emy Casaletti-Bwalya
  • Woman in Radio – Rachel Makhura
  • Woman in Social Media – Jessica Nkomo
  • Special Recognition – Brenda Mafunisa
  • Supporter of the Year – Mama Joy Chauke
  • Volunteer of the Year – Bella Mpho Makhoba
  • Style Star – Ngobile Khwezi
  • Federation of the Year – Cricket South Africa
  • Coach of the Year – Desiree Ellis
  • Team of the Year – Banyana Banyana
  • Public Choice Award – Netball South Africa
  • 2023 Hall of Fame Inductee – Blanche Moila